Mike Bifulco
BlogWorkAboutNewsletter

Promise.allSettled() Pt.2 - it's partly settled!

April 26, 2019

This is a follow-up to my first post on the upcoming Promise.allSettled() function, coming soon to a node application near you.

This is a follow-up to my first post on the upcoming Promise.allSettled() function, coming soon to a node application near you. 

Earlier today I was greeted by a Pull Request on my first post from GitHub user @j-f1.  

Screenshot of a github pull request on my last blog post
PR on my last post, showing how to use Promise.allSettled() now!

It turns out there is a handy way to add Promise.allSettled() to your apps right now! 🎉.  It's fiendishly simple to use, too.

The core-js npm package

That's right - core-js.  From their README.md, it is exactly what it sounds like:

It is a polyfill of the JavaScript standard library, which supports:

Looking further down in the readme, there's a list of supported features in the polyfill:

Promise.allSettled stage 2 proposal

Well hot damn! That'll do it! 

How to use core-js

As @j-f1 indicated, in any project that uses babel as a transpiler, all you need to do is add core-js to your project, and include it at your app's entry point:

First, add the dependency to your project

> yarn add core-js

Then, at your app's entry point (usually something like index.js, or app.js in the root of your project):

import 'core-js';

or, if you want to include just the Promise.allSettled() polyfill, and nothing else, use:

import 'core-js/proposals/promise-all-settled';

That's it! 🍻

Mike Bifulco headshot

Get content for developers, designers, and entrepreneurs

Subscribe to get my updates delivered to your inbox. Typically 1-2 emails a month, straight from me to you. 😘 Unsubscribe anytime.

© 2019-2021 Mike Bifulco
Built with Next. Source code on GitHub.
Disclaimer: 👋🏽 Hi there. I work as a Developer Advocate at Google. Content on this site contains my own opinions, and does not necessarily reflect the views of my employer.